Advice for a new Owls fan

6 minutes ago, MelthamOwl10 said:

Hi all, 

I am new to Wednesday - first game was this season. 

Bit of back story about me - feel free to skip this part. I come from a rugby family, my dad has absolutely zero interest in football however I had a fascination with the sport from a young age. 

A mate of mine from school & college was a Chelsea fan. So I ended up going with him. For years I classed myself as a ‘Chelsea fan’ despite feeling no connection with the club. As a proud Yorkshire lad, really struggled to build any connection with the club despite spending £££ on following them all over. 

Fast forward to this year, I decided to make a trip to Hillsborough on a whim. I have been to several home games this year and already have more of a connection and feel more at home among you Wednesdayites - than I ever did in 10 years of going to Chelsea. 

I understand this may well open myself up to some abuse from the rest of you and maybe deserved for not ‘supporting my local’. 

However, this has been a long winded way of getting to my question.

I am wanting to go both home and away next year. Now I keep an eye on how unbelievably quickly away tickets sell out. Now my initial plan was to purchase an owls membership, however seeing how quick away tickets sell out. Would I stand much chance of getting away tickets on a membership or would I be better off getting a season ticket - despite the expense. 

Thanks for your help. 

And to those fans who have welcomed me at the games I have been to this year! 

Always good to gain new fans - welcome to the madhouse.

Even with a season ticket you will struggle to get tickets for many away games - with a membership it will be very difficult.

• Like 2

Choosing to support Wednesday will be the worst and best decision you've ever made!

Welcome to the gang.