Player motivation - writing is already on the wall

Just a theory...

Maybe the high earners who's contracts expire in the summer already know they cannot earn another contact here? 

Chansiri sold the stadium which tides us over this season, next season we cannot afford those wages without promotion (as we cannot sell the stadium again).

Then, if these players do earn promotion we will still let them go anyway as we need to buy better for the prem. 

The whole thing leads to players which stuggle to get motivated. Monk has a hell of a job on his hands, let's get behind him. Some tough decisions ahead which need making.

1 minute ago, SallyCinnamon said:

I’m not a pro footballer, but isn’t having a promotion on your CV enough to motivate you? Having the experience of going up and all the celebrations that go with it. That would do it for me I think.

Yep it should be and would be for me, but is it for them?

14 minutes ago, fpowl said:

Their profession is as a competitive sportsman 

if they can’t compete they won’t get a contract anywhere 

just keep dropping down until people pay them what their worth 

Unless the buying club don't rate Monk, then they know the player will out perform what they paid for them.

33 minutes ago, swfc.4.ever said:

Just a theory...

Maybe the high earners who's contracts expire in the summer already know they cannot earn another contact here? 

Chansiri sold the stadium which tides us over this season, next season we cannot afford those wages without promotion (as we cannot sell the stadium again).

Then, if these players do earn promotion we will still let them go anyway as we need to buy better for the prem. 

The whole thing leads to players which stuggle to get motivated. Monk has a hell of a job on his hands, let's get behind him. Some tough decisions ahead which need making.