Owls v Carlisle 1980

Guest Tractorowl

Guest Tractorowl

I thought that as we play Carlisle tommorrow that I would share these photos of our memorable promotion celebration game against them in 1980.

I remember visiting their ground, in the 70's and walking across a muddy field, fighting against driving rain and then standing on an uncovered terrace. One of my worst football memories. Anyone else there?

Obviously I am not an old pro at this new fangled technology so I hope that these photos 'upload'.

For the youngsters amongst you, the pictures were taken with a pocket Kodak Instamatic Camera with a 110 film. You needed big pockets and on the whole they produced poor pictures.

This game was the last game that I experienced, on my season ticket, as it marked my move to University and move away from home. It was typical of the Owls as I had suffered years of watching mostly rubbish, only for them to be promoted as I moved away. The year I left University, 1983, they went even better and were promoted to the First Division as I moved 200 miles even further from Sheffield. Perhaps I need to emigrate.

If memory serves me well we had well over 30,000 for this game, having achieved promotion the week before losing to Exeter. It was a boring 0-0 draw but still a fantastic atmosphere and one of those treasured memories of the 1979 - 1980 season.

post-16389-0-94516300-1334940619_thumb.j

post-16389-0-29937100-1334940651_thumb.j

post-16389-0-10365400-1334940671_thumb.j

Guest Briscoe Inferno

A truly fantastic day....

You must have been sat just behind us just above gangway J...

Edited by Briscoe Inferno

i think the crowd that day was 32 or 33 thousand

the programme for that game is rare because the printers where on strike and we had to make do with a black and white rush job

Northends the printers went on strike, so the club printed a makeshift programme, only 2000 made ,just like the teamsheet that used to be printed for the reserves, i've got one