Fund-raising for facilities for the blind at Hillsborough

Guest phshaw

Guest phshaw

I have been supporting Sheffield Wednesday for 50 years and I was a teacher of children with a visual impairment for 25 years, including being Deputy Head of Tapton Mount School for the Blind in Sheffield for a period in the 1980s. This school has now closed and has been replaced by a Service which supports children with a visual impairment in their local schools.

Unfortunately I had to take early retirement from work last year as after surgery to remove a cancer from my leg, complications set in resulting in removal of my lymph nodes in my right leg. Consequently I suffer from lymphodemia in this leg; this has left me with a degree of disability in that I can only stand still for very short periods and cannot sit for extended periods without mobilising my leg as it can become very swollen within a short period of time. Walking is painful and difficult over short distances although after I have managed to walk about 3 miles, the lymph gets pumped and I can walk easier and relatively pain free. Needless to say my condition requires daily management and to alleviate the pain and discomfort I have taken to long distance walking, raising money for local charities in the Filey/Scarborough region (where I live) in the process.