Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Using VAR in the cup is only to iron out the glitches and test it real-time for the introduction full time into their beloved premier league

 

It's impossible to have all the cup games with VAR therefore none should have it

  • Agree 7
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


2 hours ago, punkskaphil said:

 

Here it is from the rulebook:

 

 

5.1.11

How does play restart after the review?

Once the referee has reached a final decision, the match must be restarted as follows:

• if a decision is not changed, play restarts according to the original decision

• if a decision is changed or a ‘missed’ offence is identified, play restarts with the correct

restart for the ‘new’ decision.

• if play was stopped for a review and the original decision is not overturned, play

restarts with a dropped ball where the ball was when play was stopped

 

 

In tonight's case the ref applied the third option, but because he hadn't stopped play (the ball was already out of play when he made the decision), he should've applied the second option and the game should've restarted with a corner (which would've been the 'new decision' after viewing the video).

Thanks punks. At last we know the rules. Perhaps the club should demand the game is nil and void and replayed  lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, punkskaphil said:

 

Here it is from the rulebook:

 

 

5.1.11

How does play restart after the review?

Once the referee has reached a final decision, the match must be restarted as follows:

• if a decision is not changed, play restarts according to the original decision

• if a decision is changed or a ‘missed’ offence is identified, play restarts with the correct

restart for the ‘new’ decision.

• if play was stopped for a review and the original decision is not overturned, play

restarts with a dropped ball where the ball was when play was stopped

 

 

In tonight's case the ref applied the third option, but because he hadn't stopped play (the ball was already out of play when he made the decision), he should've applied the second option and the game should've restarted with a corner (which would've been the 'new decision' after viewing the video).

If the decision isn’t overturned, why would you re-start with a drop ball, as per the 3rd option there?  That seems to suggest if you give a pen, review it and it’s confirmed it was correct, you re-start with a drop ball.  As I missing something?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Big Malc said:

If the decision isn’t overturned, why would you re-start with a drop ball, as per the 3rd option there?  That seems to suggest if you give a pen, review it and it’s confirmed it was correct, you re-start with a drop ball.  As I missing something?

 

I think (but not sure) that it refers to a situation where the VAR people spot something that wasn't picked up by the ref and then ask the ref to stop play so that there can be a review. I believe the ref has to wait until the ball is in a 'neutral' area before stopping play. If they review it and nothing comes of it, then they restart with a drop-ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Foooks me off that our captain doesn't ask for a contested drop ball in these situations.

 

Time and again players just accept the soft option.

  • Agree 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, 33 said:

Foooks me off that our captain doesn't ask for a contested drop ball in these situations.

 

Time and again players just accept the soft option.

Not convinced Lees is the right man to be captain. Noticed yesterday as the players were stood in the tunnel the Chelsea captain on being told to go he shouted come on boys clapping his hands. Lees did nothing. In my opinion, I don't think he's comfortable in the role and as a result, his game has suffered. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To me it's very clearly a pen.

 

Ampadu makes the challenge and plants his foot, missing the ball.

Pessy then kicks Ampadu's leg, and that knocks it into the ball.

That makes it a trip on Pessy, since he took the man before the ball.

 

 

 

pen-chelsea.jpg

  • Agree 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, cookeh said:

To me it's very clearly a pen.

 

Ampadu makes the challenge and plants his foot, missing the ball.

Pessy then kicks Ampadu's leg, and that knocks it into the ball.

That makes it a trip on Pessy, since he took the man before the ball.

 

 

 

pen-chelsea.jpg

 

You're showing signs of unmitigated bias there chief 

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, dannytheowl said:

 

You're showing signs of unmitigated bias there chief 

 

Does Ampadu touch the ball _before_ Pessy kicks him?

Slow-mo says no..

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Only just got round to seeing the replay - obviously the eventual decision was correct, but I feel JP was a bit naive in trying to take the shot on - had he been clever (cynical) and just nudged it forward then it was highly likely that he would indeed have been fouled. 

 

Hindsight is wonderful I guess. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Ever the pessimist said:

Only just got round to seeing the replay - obviously the eventual decision was correct, but I feel JP was a bit naive in trying to take the shot on - had he been clever (cynical) and just nudged it forward then it was highly likely that he would indeed have been fouled. 

 

Hindsight is wonderful I guess. 

 

Just my own opinion, but in the position he found himself in I'd always want a player to try to score rather than try to buy a penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, punkskaphil said:

 

Just my own opinion, but in the position he found himself in I'd always want a player to try to score rather than try to buy a penalty.

But it was pelupessy on the ball. It's probably not going to go on target even if he does take the shot. :Pelupessy:

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, cookeh said:

 

Does Ampadu touch the ball _before_ Pessy kicks him?

Slow-mo says no..

 

So you're saying that Pelupessy kicks their player - but it should have been a penalty to us?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, cookeh said:

To me it's very clearly a pen.

 

Ampadu makes the challenge and plants his foot, missing the ball.

Pessy then kicks Ampadu's leg, and that knocks it into the ball.

That makes it a trip on Pessy, since he took the man before the ball.

 

 

 

pen-chelsea.jpg

At last penalty all day long ! Recognising of course that 20 years ago a corner would have been awarded. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
38 minutes ago, nevthelodgemoorowl said:

At last penalty all day long ! Recognising of course that 20 years ago a corner would have been awarded. 

 

The other telling thing is the direction of travel of the ball. If Ampadu had got the ball, it would have gone in some direction resembling the direction he kicked his foot out in. Instead if goes off at right angles to his foot, because that's the direction Pessy kicks Ampadu's foot in.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, cookeh said:

 

The other telling thing is the direction of travel of the ball. If Ampadu had got the ball, it would have gone in some direction resembling the direction he kicked his foot out in. Instead if goes off at right angles to his foot, because that's the direction Pessy kicks Ampadu's foot in.

Had the scenario been the same in a Liverpool v Man City game we would have seen a penalty awarded after a considerably longer period of waiting. My First instinct was pen. Then have a look. Then a second look. Then sure Pessis strike on goal had been blocked with contact on ball following Pessi striking defenders leg/foot into contact with ball. The ball running away at most peculiar angle as you say !

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had they been no var we probably would have gone 1-0 in front instead of going behind within seconds, Chelsea would probably still have won game but there's a small chance they wouldn't have. 

 

If they're going to have var it has to be for all the games in a competition not just a few, Everton would probably be still in competition had they had var in there game. 

It's influencing who's going to win competition. 

 

If they're going to bring it then bring it in for all premier league games for a full season. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, bradowl said:

Had they been no var we probably would have gone 1-0 in front instead of going behind within seconds, Chelsea would probably still have won game but there's a small chance they wouldn't have. 

 

If they're going to have var it has to be for all the games in a competition not just a few, Everton would probably be still in competition had they had var in there game. 

It's influencing who's going to win competition. 

 

If they're going to bring it then bring it in for all premier league games for a full season. 

This is the point I've been making all day to people who have no idea about football normally but are suddenly experts. Doing my nut. 

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 hours ago, punkskaphil said:

 

Exactly my point. The correct decision would've been to change the decision from 'penalty' to 'corner'. The ball was out of play before the whistle was blown, so the third point doesn't even come into consideration.

 

I could be wrong but I think the part that is confusing people is:

 

It doesnt matter where the ball was when the referee blew his whistle. Its where the ball was for the incident that he blew the whistle for.

 

He blew it for the penalty claim. It doesnt matter if play continues for another few seconds...... It doesnt matter where the ball ends up. He blew for the penalty. What happens to the ball afterwards is irrelevant. The ref wouldnt say... The ball has gone out for a corner....therefore Im not blowing for a penalty.

 

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...