Our problem according to Pep Guardiola (sort of)

I'm going to preface this by saying I really like Carlos. I like.him as a manager, I like to listen to him and he seems like a thoroughly decent bloke. I'm a supporter of his but I'm struggling to see how he gets out of this one...although I hope he does.

Anyway...a couple of years ago I had the fortune to have a conversation with Pep Guardiola (it was just after he joined Bayern) he said a few interesting things but I think one is extremely relevant for us.

He said that every three years you need to either change the manager, or change the team. If not, people get comfortable, you become to predictable and ambition starts to taper away instead we humans start to favor security over risk and reward.

I really think that speaks to our problem. What we needed in Summer was either a new manager or several new players, with several departing.

For me - if we agree with Pep - I think it leaves Chansiri with two options:

1. Stick with Carlos and cash in on a few players in January - allowing him the opportunity to really refresh the squad 

2. Twist with Carlos and replace him, knowing that could prove successful with minimal squad investment - but knowing a new manager with an old manager's players could push us even further backwards.

Big call to make.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, McRightSide said:

I'm going to preface this by saying I really like Carlos. I like.him as a manager, I like to listen to him and he seems like a thoroughly decent bloke. I'm a supporter of his but I'm struggling to see how he gets out of this one...although I hope he does.

Anyway...a couple of years ago I had the fortune to have a conversation with Pep Guardiola (it was just after he joined Bayern) he said a few interesting things but I think one is extremely relevant for us.