Van Aken

3 minutes ago, roundhayowl said:

This guy is a centre mid. Very good on the ball but defensively poor from what I have seen. Jones is ok when there is no pressure (lile the majority of today's game) but in general he isn't up to scratch. Van Aken could be a very good player in this role I reckon.

totally my thoughts exactly,never going to be a good centre half imo,comfy on the ball tho

I think he could play the hutch role and hutch should play CB once fit. Hutch's qualities are tackling/agression/battling and doing this at CB means he is more disciplined and will hopefully get injured less. Van Aken has already shown he has a great range of passing (something Hutch and Jones don't) but should have the positional sense to sniff out danger being a CB by trade.

1 minute ago, vulva said:

Said before, would be ideal in a back 3. Not sure he is ready for this level, defensively, just yet. Regularly plays teams onside, as he doesn't push out quick enough. 

Excellent prospect though. 

Was going to post similar, defensively a bit wobbly the last 2 home game, but he will improve with games and coaching. Our midfield does leave him exposed at times too.  

3 minutes ago, vulva said:

Said before, would be ideal in a back 3. Not sure he is ready for this level, defensively, just yet. Regularly plays teams onside, as he doesn't push out quick enough. 

Excellent prospect though. 

I'd agree with this.

Re playing teams onside- what seems to be happening is the attacking player is standing in an offside position, but then Van Aken is dropping back and playing  him onside, rather than leaving him there. It seems a pretty basic thing to fix, but I noticed it a few times today.

Edited by RUMBELOWS91

6 minutes ago, Wath-owl said:

So much potential, but for now he definitely needs a fair bit of work on the training ground to improve his defensive positioning.

Loovens will hopefully come straight back into the starting lineup when fit to give the lad a break.