Jump to content
swinners

Should we have had a penalty V Notts Forest?

Recommended Posts

How is the push on Forestieri not a foul when he's about to shoot and clear through?

  • Agree 9

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Clear and clever push. Lino should have seen it.

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cos he didn't go down?  Would have been soft even though you are right, it's definitely a push.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's one of those where if he had gone down he would've given a penalty. Would've had to send their player off for a deliberate foul without trying to play the ball as well.

 

Credit to Fernando for staying up and trying to play on.

 

Poor from the referee.

 

It's things like this that lead to players going to ground and the grey area of what is and isn't simulation.

  • Agree 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pushed him half a yard closer to the keeper and cut his time to make the shot by a tiny bit which totally threw FF's approach out. Clever but cynical as heck. Big risk at 0-1 down, Brazil would've been apoplectic if he'd walked for that.

 

Brazil :manager:

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nando stayed up cos he was confident he would score. So was I !!!

 

TBF keeper did well.

 

It only served to motivate FF even more to make amends.......and he sure did. His goal was from a no chance situation...one of the best....just when we needed it.

 

Only thing close to that today was AA's goal.

 

Their goal was a gimme.....we made 3 mistakes on the trot and they still got lucky!!!

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
27 minutes ago, swinners said:

How is the push on Forestieri not a foul when he's about to shoot and clear through?

 

From my observations, pushes are seldom given anywhere on the pitch.

 

Even if it had been, it's not necessarily a penalty as advantage would more than likely come into play...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Advantage Fessi - new balls please

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, slinger208b said:

 

From my observations, pushes are seldom given anywhere on the pitch.

 

Even if it had been, it's not necessarily a penalty as advantage would more than likely come into play...

How on earth would any referee play an advantage in that situation?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Costello 77 said:

How on earth would any referee play an advantage in that situation?

 

In control of the ball, one on one with the keeper...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

People will play it off as a little push that hardly had any impact on FF but in reality it's a very clever foul that just puts him off balance at the perfect time as he's winding up, without it I have no doubt he would've scored, no ref would've had the balls to give it in all honesty and the defender knew that

  • Agree 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, slinger208b said:

 

In control of the ball, one on one with the keeper...

What a silly remark.

 

  • Agree 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes it was a foul!

 

But let's face it, if Forestieri had gone down the referee would probably booked him for diving.WTF:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seen that attempt several times today but want until about the fifth time I noticed the push. 

Its all shits n giggles though. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Should have been a penalty.

 

But it doesn't matter now.

 

We still won.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Never a penalty for the simple fact that he pushes him just outside the box. Proper professional CB foul that.

Edited by JackSWFC
  • Agree 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was it outside the box? Need to watch it again. Regardless of that, it was a foul that should have resulted in a red card. Much prefer the Rugby Union way of giving extended advantage in cases like these to see what happens and if no advantage is gained, bring play back to where the original infrindgement happened and go from there. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agreed outside the box. Still a deliberate foul and referee should have pulled back the play after the save for a free-kick on the edge of the box and booked the player.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×