Canadian Owls

Hi folks,

I'm heading over to Canada on a working holiday visa I'm looking as it stands to start in Vancouver and move around as and when it suits me.

I'm just wondering if you guys can give me an update on how the jobs climate and what cost rent roughly is in area's where you guys live. I'm a electrician so hoping work should be relatively easy to come by though I'm prepared to be proved wrong on that.

Also can you guys tell me about how much you paid for car insurance as a foreigner when you first went over if you emigrated from england and what the laws are where you live, I have done some research and it seems British Colombia is the easiest place to sort these things out.

Many thanks

While it's true I live here in Vancouver I have been here nearly thirty years so my giving advice on setting up would be a little out of date. All I can tell you is that it is one of the greatest cities in the world in a fantastic setting. You may want to PM Indiana as he did the one year permit thing here a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it. As far as work if you are a construction electrician you should be OK. Even though the Olympics are over there are no signs of the boom letting up. PM me if you have any more questions.

Vancouver is a great place and "trades people" in general are always in demand here in Canada. For an electrician, I believe their is some sort of exam that you need to pass before you can undertake that type of work. I presume you have/will be doing this?

They always joke, BC means Bring Cash. A great city, fantastic scenery and an ocean lifestyle don't come cheap unfortunately. I know, I went on a day trip to Victoria once :biggrin: .

It'll be a great experience for you. Canada's a fantastic place. Enjoy !!!!!!

Edited by Maple Staple

OK forget all this nonsense about British Columbia.

All the rain there has dulled their senses :biggrin:

Come to sunny Alberta and enjoy some real fun.