Why investment is more important than just clearing the debts

I fully expect to get shot down in flames for numerous reasons for this, but I just wanted to share my thoughts and observations.

I am one of the very people Mr Strafford has been calling all of you to convince to come back to Hillsboro. I was a season ticket holder for a number of years, which came to an end when I went away to University. I graduated and came back to Sheffield the season we were relegated from the Premiership, at the time I had no job and no money. Since then, I think it's pretty fair to say that we've not exactly been setting the world on fire with footballing prowess, this together with the general bad feeling surrounding the club and the outright negativity displayed by the then board means I have never really regained the passion I had before University.

I still consider myself a fan (dodge bullet no.1), I attend the odd game, listen to away games on the radio and read the forums, ocassionally posting (bullet no.2), but it no way have I been convinced to stump up the several hundred quid to go to watch Wednesday every fortnight, even though I am now in a position to have that kind of disposable income. I have friends who still have season tickets and ask their opinion after the game, generally speaking the feedback I receive is not good - hardly the best advertisement.

I appreciate the work Mr Strafford is doing regarding the business operations and making the football club a saleable commodity (which is his remit), but I am not going to kiss his ass like so many do on here.

The belief and passion around the club have dwindled over the years and I don't believe the "call to arms" speeches Mr Strafford repeatedly gives, via all forms of media, are going to change anything; I can only see it doing more harm than good as it increasingly starts to come across as blame.