Any groundsmen out there?

The pitch at Hillsbprough has of course come in for some major criticism of late, so perhaps a groundsman might be able to shed some light on just why it is so bad, when others in the area appear better.

Admittedly I am no expert, by any stretch of the imagination, but I cannot for the life of me understand why, with such a threadbare pitch we put the sprinklers on just before kickoff on tuesday. With a "grassy" pitch it is said to be done to give the ball a bit of a "zip", but on that beach surely it just makes the surface heavier. Surely a roller would have been a more appropriate treatment?

The only explanation from the club has been that it is the so called "extreme" weather........that is just nonesense, the weather has not been that bad.....we have certainly not had prolonged periods of frost and snow, infact it has on the whole been relatively mild. So....are there any groundsmen out there who might be able to shed some light on the subject?

The pitch at Hillsbprough has of course come in for some major criticism of late, so perhaps a groundsman might be able to shed some light on just why it is so bad, when others in the area appear better.

Admittedly I am no expert, by any stretch of the imagination, but I cannot for the life of me understand why, with such a threadbare pitch we put the sprinklers on just before kickoff on tuesday. With a "grassy" pitch it is said to be done to give the ball a bit of a "zip", but on that beach surely it just makes the surface heavier. Surely a roller would have been a more appropriate treatment?

The only explanation from the club has been that it is the so called "extreme" weather........that is just nonesense, the weather has not been that bad.....we have certainly not had prolonged periods of frost and snow, infact it has on the whole been relatively mild. So....are there any groundsmen out there who might be able to shed some light on the subject?