Famous old terraces.

Having recently had a Tour around Anfield, the guide said that the (liverpool) Kop used to be the largest behind goal standing terrace in Europe. With a 28500 capacity in its prime. Now I'm no stadium expert but immediately had doubts on that bit of info. Not the amount, but the biggest bit. Found this on some site saying what was the most jaw dropping, awe inspiring terrace in Britain, other than Anfields Kop or Manures stretford end. Obviously one persons choice, but our Kop came 2nd behind villas Holte end. The Holte end had a 31000 capacity.

2. The Kop, Hillsborough

Borussia Dortmund’s ‘Wall’ can f.uck right off – this Yorkshire behemoth came first. Look at it. Just look at it. Imagine you’re the opposition goal keeper and you have to walk towards this magnificent barsteward of a terrace, packed with fans. There are other, more famous Kops, but the Hillsborough Kop’s scale deserves respect. It was flipping massive.

5th South Bank Molinuex

4th fulwell End Roker Park

3rd The Jungle Celtic park

2nd The Kop Hillsborough

1st Holte End Villa Park.

Anyone know what was the capacity of our Kop in its massive prime?

Edited by Semedo's ferret

The un covered Kop held 16,800.so was quite a leap when expanded.

The Holte end was2nd in size at that time,but from memory only the back half was covered.

Pre the Safety in Sportsgrounds act,Simon Inglis reckons the south bank at Wolves was the largest capacity and I can. quite believe it.

The un covered Kop held 16,800.so was quite a leap when expanded.

The Holte end was2nd in size at that time,but from memory only the back half was covered.

Pre the Safety in Sportsgrounds act,Simon Inglis reckons the south bank at Wolves was the largest capacity and I can. quite believe it.

The South bank was really big, I remember when it was split between home and away fans.

OldMolineux11.jpg

Edited by TaxiMark